ONCE UPON A TIME…

Once upon a time, the clinging of her bangles was his alarm clock every morning. The touch of her soft hands on his forehead and a tender kiss on his cheeks as she wished him good morning, often seemed irritating to him. “I have asked you so many times not to give me cereals for breakfast, don’t know when you will understand!”, he said, leaving home without having breakfast and slamming the door on her face.

The alarm clock rang twice. He turned to check the time. 7:30 it was. “I’ll be late again, will I make it to class by 8?”, he murmured to himself jumping out of the bed. Tasteless mess food again! Good I have no time for breakfast. Wish someone gave me a bowl of plain cereals! Final year in college yet everyday I miss you Maa!


Once upon a time, she looked up at the stars twinkling in the sky. I miss you, she said as tears rolled down her face again. Our son is growing up so fast you know? His teachers were praising him the other day. I felt so proud. Wish you were here to share my happiness. He keeps complaining about food. Prices are increasing and I still didn’t get my hike. Cereals is all I can afford in this recession these days for his breakfast.

His happiness knew no bounds that day. First person to get placed in the college. 20 lacs per annum. Maa! His heart cried out. He dialled her number. “I got the job Maa! You don’t need to cry any more looking at the stars. I love you. Thank you for never giving up on me.” , was all he could say as he looked up at the stars with tears in his eyes. “Papa, I wish you were here today!”


Once upon a time, it seemed morning came along way too fast. Both struggled to keep back their tears. The railway station witnessed thousands of stories each day. Today it marked another story of separation. “Do I really need to go?” “Don’t go!” Both wanted to say these words to each other but they didn’t. After all they were each other’s only support. “Be safe. Concentrate on your studies. I know you will do great there. My blessings are always with you.”, she said until her voice became hoarse. “I’ll be fine. Don’t worry. You take care. Will call you everyday.”, he said boarding the train.

He couldn’t wait for the morning to board the train back home. College was finally over. One month later, he would begin a new life. This indeed made him happy, but the thought of going to work from home everyday was what made him happier. Staying away from home one sure does realise the importance of family, he thought.


Once again, the clinging of her bangles was his alarm clock every morning. The touch of her soft hands on his forehead and a tender kiss on his cheeks as she wished him good morning, were the best part of his mornings. “Where are my cereals Maa?”


10

Leave a Reply

